Palmier Pro vs PilotCut: macOS 26, Credits, and Local MCP
Palmier Pro targets macOS 26 Apple Silicon with local MCP; credits cover generation and Palmier chat. PilotCut is free during beta with the same 83-tool surface, confirm protocol, and FCPXML export.
Palmier Pro vs PilotCut: macOS 26, Credits, and Local MCP
Free during beta. Bring the agent you already pay for. PilotCut — the fastest editor for AI — 83 purpose-built tools, shaped by tens of thousands of hours of video-editing practice, so your agent and you waste less time and money. Propose-then-commit on named actions. export type=fcpxml as an agent tool. There is no Windows build.
Palmier Pro and PilotCut both pitch AI-native editing on Mac with a local MCP server. Public X posts about Palmier are mostly hype, not complaint threads. This comparison sticks to palmier.io and the public GitHub README.
What public Palmier pages state
From palmier.io:
- Minimum macOS 26 (Tahoe).
- Local MCP so Claude, Cursor, ChatGPT Codex-class clients, and similar agents can edit the timeline.
- FAQ: Credits pay for image, video, and audio generation, upscaling, cloud transcription, and Palmier chat. The editor and MCP connection are free.
- Export renders (H.264, H.265, ProRes) or NLE XML for Premiere, Resolve, or Final Cut.
From the GitHub README:
- macOS 26 (Tahoe) on Apple Silicon only.
- Local MCP at
http://127.0.0.1:19789/mcpwhile the app is open. - Releases through v0.7.6 (and source through
last-gpl-source) were GPLv3. Later binary releases are proprietary; corresponding source is not published (BINARY_LICENSE.md).
Palmier Pro's public pages do not state credit-pack prices or a total tool count, so none are listed here. Whether every tool call executes immediately is not stated on those pages either.
What X is saying (mostly launch notes)
@ALTestTw notes Apple Silicon, macOS 26 only, a free editor, and that AI features require login. That lines up with the site FAQ's credit-gated generation and chat.
@so_sthbryan highlights MCP baked in. Older GPL comments on social may be stale relative to the README notice above. Prefer the repository's own license statement.
PilotCut on the same axes
| Axis | Palmier Pro (public pages) | PilotCut |
|---|---|---|
| Platform | macOS 26, Apple Silicon only | Native Mac editor; no Windows build |
| MCP | Local HTTP MCP while the app is open | Local MCP + pilotcut tool CLI; same registry as the UI |
| Tool craft | Not stated as a public tool count here | 83 purpose-built editing tools, shaped by tens of thousands of hours of video-editing practice |
| Credits | Generation, upscaling, cloud transcription, Palmier chat per FAQ | Free during beta; BYO agent bills to your existing agent plan |
| Confirm protocol | Not claimed here from primary sources | confirm:false plan then confirm:true on named actions (cut, cutSilences, removeWords, removeDeadAir, chapters, caption import/patch, voiceover/camera replace). Core Agent chat gates on riskTier; CLI is not gated. |
| Interchange | NLE XML per site | export type=fcpxml (FCPXML 1.11, absolute media paths) as an agent tool |
| License history | GPLv3 through v0.7.6; later binaries proprietary | Commercial product; free during beta |
Agents for PilotCut: Claude Code, ChatGPT Codex, Grok Build, GitHub Copilot, OpenCode, Antigravity.
The fastest editor for AI — 83 purpose-built tools, shaped by tens of thousands of hours of video-editing practice, so your agent and you waste less time and money.
Generation meter vs BYO cleanup
Both products want agents on a Mac timeline. Palmier's public pages put generation, upscaling, cloud transcription, and Palmier chat behind credits; the editor and MCP connection are free per the FAQ. PilotCut sells a different job: the same 83-tool craft surface humans and agents already share, propose-then-commit on the named meaning-changing actions, FCPXML as an agent export, and Free during beta. Bring the agent you already pay for.
Hosted generation and inspectable local cleanup are different meters. For weekly cleanup with a BYO coding agent and no editor-side generation meter, start with PilotCut.
In 2026, creators are tired of stacking another product subscription. PilotCut is free during beta. Bring Claude Code, ChatGPT Codex, Grok Build, GitHub Copilot, OpenCode, or Antigravity. A generation credit meter is not the same thing as the frontier agent seat you already pay for.
Bottom line
Palmier Pro is real, public, and MCP-native on macOS 26. Credits cover generation and Palmier chat. The editor and MCP connection are free per the site FAQ. License shifted from GPLv3 (through v0.7.6) to proprietary binaries.
PilotCut competes on craft and protocol: 83 purpose-built tools, confirm on the named actions, FCPXML from the agent, free during beta, BYO agent.
Try PilotCut — free during beta.
Related articles
September 14, 2026
Descript AI Credits vs PilotCut: Bring the Agent You Already Pay For
Creators report running out of Descript AI credits while media minutes remain. PilotCut is free during beta with 83 purpose-built tools and a BYO agent — no editor-side credit meter for agent edits.
8 min read
September 10, 2026
Premiere Generative Media Credits vs PilotCut BYO Agent Editing
Premiere’s Generative Media UI shows credit costs before Firefly, Veo, Runway, or Luma generates. PilotCut is free during beta: 83 purpose-built tools, local timeline, bring the agent you already pay for.
4 min read
September 8, 2026
Resolve Studio 21.1 Native MCP vs PilotCut Agent Editing
DaVinci Resolve Studio 21.1 ships a native MCP server for AI agents — Studio-only, plus your Claude or Codex sub. Here is what PilotCut offers instead for agent-driven editing on a local Mac timeline.
5 min read